Skip to content

Friday Whatsit for May 7, 2010

May 7, 2010

Friday whatsit

Click to enlarge

This is a cool one, if I do say so myself. I thought I would make the Friday Whatsit a little harder this week, since last week was guessed no problem by the lovely Kathleen.

This one, like last week, shows off the mad photomicroscopy skills of yours truly. Its one of the few images I have managed to take with our new Olympus FV10i-W confocal laser scanning microscope in a box. Yes, it is as cool as it sounds.

I’ll give you a hint: the gray stuff is a cell. I think it’s a cultured fibroblast cell, but I could be wrong, I don’t always get all the details of the samples I image. I’ll just say what I always say when pressed for details — I don’t make it, I just make it look good. Anyway, the cell’s nucleus is the large round object that kind of looks like a pig nose, and the cool thing is how well you can see the green stuff inside the cell to the left of the nucleus. What/where is the green stuff, and why can we see it so well?

Guesses in the comments section, answer on Tuesday this week. I have other (non-blogging) plans for Monday.

Comments are closed.

