Skip to content

Blood Cell Bakery

May 27, 2010

Link to the blood cell bakery movie on YouTube

Click on the image to go to the movie on BoingBoing

OK kids, I know it’s been awhile since my last post.  I had  some important, non-blog things to do.  But now I am back, and I thought I would kick things off with something fun.

Not-So-Humble-Pie baker/blogger Ms. Humble and University of Illinois Urbana-Champagne professor Joanne Manaster (who Twitters as sciencegoddess, gotta love that!) have teamed up to make a series of short educational films about the cells found in the bloodstream.  Ms. Humble baked the cookies and Dr. Manaster provides the commentary.  Together they give an excellent introduction to the cells of the bloodstream/immune system.  Although I do wonder if I’m the only one who wants the red blood cell cookies to taste slightly of iron.  .  .

The first movie is here, posted on BoingBoing by Maggie Koerth-Baker.  When you’re done with that, click on the links in the movie to go to more blood stream cookie movies, or head on over to Not-So-Humble-Pie.   In addition to mouth-watering baked goods (with recipes and photos!), Ms. Humble has done a whole series of awesome science-themed baked goods, including gel electrophoresis cookies and a baked version of the periodic table.  Readers can submit their science-themed creations for her monthly science cookie roundup.  Deliciously geeky fun for the whole family.

Thanks to my friend and fellow science geek Piriya for the link!

4 Comments
  1. science96 permalink

    I thought this was a great idea and gave me alot of ideas for the classroom

    • Any lesson plan that calls for eating is a fun lesson plan. Thanks for stopping by science96! Best of luck in the world of science education.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday Whatsit for May 28, 2010 « Tiny Science
  2. Answer to the Friday Whatsit for May 28th « Tiny Science

Comments are closed.

