Skip to content

The Golden Ratio

January 2, 2011

My lovely neighbor Gina sent me the link to this video on the Golden Ratio (sometimes called the Golden Mean).  It’s a pretty good introduction to a fun math concept and the ways that it relates to art, architecture and design.  Although I think Wikipedia has a nice explanation too, with actual equations and stuff, so you may want to check that out too.  Either way, it’s interesting to learn that geometry influences what humans find aesthetically pleasing.

I’m not 100% sure about the “ooh, this is spooky”, Dan Brown novel-ish tone that the video takes.  Yes, the Golden Ratio and the Fibonacci sequence can be found in nature, but not every single plant or person or whatever conforms perfectly to the ratio.  Individual product variation and all.  But nature does come close to achieving the golden ratio surprisingly often. I don’t think that’s spooky, I think it’s cool and interesting to think about patterns in nature and how and why they repeat.  Anyway, enough yakity yak, on to the video!

Comments are closed.

