Skip to content

Friday Whatsit for October 14, 2010

October 14, 2011

Many of you have been on pins and needles waiting for the Friday Whatsit to come back. Well, here it is! October is the month for creepy-crawly spooky stuff, and this jar of whatsit items reminded me of elementary school Halloween parties and all the faux-creepy stuff people would put out as decoration.  You know, bowls of spaghetti “brains” and peeled grape “eyeballs.”   Don’t remember that kind of stuff from your childhood?  maybe I just grew up in a weird part of the world.

Anyway, what are these globular things in this big jar of reddish liquid?  Leave your guesses in the comments section and I’ll post the answer on Monday.

5 Comments
  1. Gina Ruttle permalink

    You can’t fool us! It’s beta vulgaris, an aptly termed Halloween-themed creepy heebie jeebie name if there ever was one. Plus they taste pretty good too. :-))

  2. casie permalink

    Maraschino cherries?

  3. Murph permalink

    They look like the pickled eggs on the bar at Moe’s Tavern. Mmmmm….eggy goodness.

  4. I vote for grape tomatoes in red liquid. Nikki says potatoes. they do kinda remind me of pickled eggs but I’ve never seen them done in red liquid.

  5. Auntie Linda permalink

    I’m going with olives

Comments are closed.

